Curtain Players Among Jebby Nominees

Posted: Thursday, March 2, 2017, 4:28pm

Curtain Players is represented among nominees for the annual Jebby Awards program Saturday March 18.

This is the 25th year for the eponymous recognition program founded and coordinated by Columbus resident Jeb Bigelow. The celebration, complete with red carpet, cash bar, awards program, and dancing, will take place at The Bluestone in Columbus.

The Curtain Players staging of You Can’t Take It With You received a nomination for Local Production of the Year. Kirsten Peninger received a nod in the Local Performer of the Year/Supporting Actress in a Play category for her turn as Essie in that show.

Three nominees for the Local Entertainer of the Year award have Curtain Players credits on their resumes: Kasey Leah Meininger as Sissy in Come Back to the 5 & Dime, Jimmy Dean, Jimmy Dean and Sabina in The Skin of Our Teeth; Susan Wismar as in The Importance of Being Earnest; and David Bahgat, costumer for The Importance of Being Earnest.

Bigelow created this celebration of excellence in stage productions, individual performances, and technical achievements in central Ohio theatre. Bigelow, himself an active participant in the local theatre community — he directed The Importance of Being Earnest for Curtain Players in September — determines award nominations from among the more than 80 stage shows he attended in the 2016 calendar year. The program also features his favorites in motion picture, music, and television entertainment beyond Columbus.

Nominations announcements were made through February on Bigelow’s Jebby Awards Facebook page. Tickets for the event may be purchased through links on that site.