4 Roundtable Awards for Curtain

Posted: Monday, January 29, 2018, 8:38am

Curtain Players received four awards at the Theatre Roundtable’s annual celebration of central Ohio theatre Sunday evening January 28 at the Jewish Community Center of Greater Columbus in Bexley.

All four trophies were in acting categories.

David Tull was honored in the Excellence in a Lead Role in a Play (Male) category for his role as Howie in Rabbit Hole. Camille Bullock Pozderac and Mary Trapp Gray each won awards in the Excellence in a Supporting Role in a Play (Female) class for Rabbit Hole. Pozderac played Izzy; Gray, the role of Nat. Curtain Players presented David Lindsay-Abaire’s domestic drama at the Harlem Road playhouse March 24-April 9.

Patrick Petrilla joined the winners’ circle with an Excellence in a Lead Role in a Play (Male) award for his turn as Trevor in Trevor. Curtain Players staged the Nick Jones play May 5-21.

Curtain Players received four other nominations in the Roundtable’s salute of the best of local theatre in 2017. They included: Booth Muller, Excellence in Scenic Design; Kurt Mueller, Excellence in Sound Design; and Kate Tull, Excellence in Properties, all for Rabbit Hole, which received a nomination as Outstanding Production of a Play.

Curtain Players also participated in the evening’s program. Jeremy Sony, the Curtain Players board member serving as representative to the Theatre Roundtable, was among the award presenters. James F. Petsche, Curtain Players president, delivered an in memoriam tribute to veteran volunteer and central Ohio theatre patron and advocate Betty Peters.

The Theatre Roundtable program recognizes achievements in 27 member theatres’ productions presented between January 1 and December 31, 2017. Click here for the full list of Roundtable nominees and winners.

The Roundtable determines award nominees and recipients through its responder program. Volunteer responders — most active within the local theatre community as practitioners, patrons, and/or educators — review all productions staged by member theatres during the calendar year.