Curtain Receives 4 Jebby Noms

Posted: Monday, March 12, 2018, 7:37am

Curtain Players is represented four times on the roster of nominees for the annual Jebby Awards program Saturday March 24.

This is the 26th year for the eponymous recognition program founded and coordinated by Columbus resident Jeb Bigelow. The celebration, complete with red carpet, cash bar, and awards program, will take place at Northland Performing Arts Center in Columbus. Profits from the program benefit the Kaleidoscope Youth Center.

The Curtain Players staging of Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? has a nomination for Local Production of the Year. Colleen Cunningham is among nominees for Local Performer of the Year/Lead Actress in a Play category for her turn as Martha in that show. Benjamin A. Turner, who played Nick in Virginia Woolf, received a nod as Local Performer of the Year/Supporting Actor in a Play. David Tull is nominated as Local Performer of the Year/Lead Actor in a Play for his performance as Howie in Rabbit Hole.

Bigelow created this celebration of excellence in stage productions, individual performances, and technical achievements in central Ohio theatre. Bigelow, himself an active participant in the local theatre community — he directed The Importance of Being Earnest for Curtain Players in 2016 — determines award nominations from among the more than 80 stage shows he attended in the 2017 calendar year. The program also features his favorites in motion picture, music, and television entertainment beyond Columbus.

Nominations announcements were made through February on Bigelow’s Jebby Awards Facebook page. Tickets for the event may be purchased through links on that site.