Board Candidate Deadline April 25

Posted: Wednesday, April 11, 2018, 7:32pm

Curtain Players invites members in good standing to declare interest in four open seats on the community theatre company’s board of directors.

Wednesday April 25 is the deadline for candidates to file for consideration with the board's nominating committee for possible placement on the slate.

The offices of president, secretary, and two trustees are open. Current officeholders James F. Petsche (president) and Cheryl Muller (secretary) have announced they are not seeking re-election. Trustees Wendy Brinker and Sean Brinker are seeking new terms.

Following a 2017 election experiment in self-nominations and contested races, the board this year reverts back to organization by-laws and will employ a nominating committee to prepare a slate of candidates for affirmation by theatre membership at a Monday May 21 general meeting.

The board terms are for two years, commencing July 1 2018 and continuing through June 30 2020. The Curtain Players board meets monthly. All board members assume and share various and multiple duties and projects of theatre administration, governance, and operations.

Members interested in the available offices should contact Vice President Casey Merkey at by Wednesday April 25. Questions, too, should be sent to that address.

QUALIFICATIONS FOR CANDIDACY  Curtain Players candidates must be members in good standing. Membership in the theatre is defined for individuals as having documented production credits (on stage or on production staffs or crews), volunteer hours (from Set Build Saturdays and committee work), or recorded donations to the theatre.

Similarly, those casting ballots must be members in good standing according to the same criteria.

Candidates may be nominated form the floor at the May 21 membership meeting, but contacting Casey Merkey for consideration for the slate is encouraged.

VOTING  Voting will take place during the spring membership meeting Tuesday May 23. Candidates will have an opportunity to introduce themselves to the voters before balloting. No ballots will be cast in absentia. Votes will be counted and officeholders announced that evening.

The vice president (Casey Merkey), treasurer (Heather Schultz), and two other trustees (Debb Miller and Jeremy Sony) are serving terms ending June 30 2019.